On a hippie trail, head full of zombie

Nimbin rules, Nimbin, Australia
This travel blog photo’s source is TravelPod page: Nimbin rules, Nimbin, Australia

I wish I knew all the little pockets of freedom around the world, the places where tradition, culture, geographic isolation and/or chance have turned a small corner of the globe into a place where people aren’t ashamed to be who they are. Nimbin, New South Wales, Australia sounds like one of those spots:

IT’S 10 o’clock in the morning and I’m on the balcony of a B&B, overlooking a valley, when the manager appears and asks me if I’d like to share a joint. For a moment I think she’s joking until she flops into a fluorescent beanbag and lights one up.

I’m spending a few days in Australia’s marijuana capital, Nimbin, in northeastern NSW, not necessarily because I want access to cannabis, but because most of my family live here. My nephews, eight and 10, have fairly common names like Jack and Charlie, but their closest friends are called-no kidding-Tao, Zameal and Lotus. They ride horses to school and are taught by bare-footed parents in a two-roomed building in the hills. At lunchtime they swim in the adjacent creek.

Sounds so nice, I almost have a craving for vegemite. Almost.

Via 420 Magazine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

